What Is Total Converted Mana Cost?

What is total converted mana cost? Converted mana cost is the sum of the mana cost symbols in the corner of any card (X is 0 anywhere but the stack, where X is the chosen value). the difference between converted mana cost and mana cost is simple. for example, lets use the same card, kentaro, the smiling cat.

Why is it called converted mana cost?

Converted mana cost is a number, mana cost (totaled or not) includes color, alternate ways of payment, special restrictions (snow) etc. It's called "converted" because you convert it to a plain integer.

What is the difference between converted mana cost and mana value?

As of Strixhaven, "converted mana cost" will now simply be "mana value." Converted mana cost, and now mana value, is simply the total cost of a spell converted to all colorless mana.

What is mana value?

Mana value is a number equal to the total mana cost of an object (any card or token), regardless of the colors used. There are lots of different values represented by numbers in Magic. There's your life total, a creature's power and toughness, the number of cards in a particular zone, and so on.

How does converted mana cost work?

The converted mana cost of an object is determined by counting the total amount of mana in its mana cost, regardless of color. Special mana symbols: W/U adds 1, 2/W adds 2, W/P adds 1. treated as 0 if the object is not on the stack, and X is treated as the number chosen for it if the object is on the stack.


Related advices for What Is Total Converted Mana Cost?


What does Mana mean in Magic The Gathering?

Mana is a form of magic used to pay the mana cost required to cast most of the cards in the game. It is also used to cover other costs, such as those to activate certain abilities. The most basic mana source is land, though certain spells and abilities can also produce mana.


How much mana does a card cost?

202.3g Each Phyrexian mana symbol in a card's mana cost contributes 1 to its mana value. Example: The mana value of a card with mana cost 1W/PW/P is 3.


Do lands have a CMC?

Lands have no mana cost, and the CMC of an object that has no mana cost is 0.


Does overload change CMC?

Casting a spell with overload doesn't change that spell's converted mana cost. You just pay the overload cost instead.


What is the converted mana cost of a mutated creature?

The converted mana cost of the spell remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was and no matter whether an alternative cost was paid. A spell cast with mutate becomes a mutating creature spell. It requires a target creature with the same owner as the mutating creature spell.


What does converted mana cost mean in magic?

The converted mana cost of an object is a number equal to the total amount of mana in its mana cost, regardless of color.


Is zero even MTG?

The card may have other issues. You can see that there was some concern over the confusion cards with zero or nonexistent converted mana costs could cause, which is why Void Winnower clarifies that zero is even in its reminder text.


What counts as casting a spell MTG?

To cast a spell is to take a card from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. Previously, the action of casting a spell, or casting a card as a spell, was referred to on cards as “playing” that spell or that card.


Can I target a creature with Hexproof?

A creature with Hexproof cannot become the target of spells or abilities your opponents control. You may target it with your own spells and abilities as normal.


Do copied spells have a mana value?

If a permanent or spell is a copy of the back face of a transforming double-faced card (even if the card representing that copy is itself a double-faced card), the mana value of the copy is 0. Example: Huntmaster of the Fells is a transforming double-faced card with mana cost 2RG.


Do lands have 0 mana cost?

Lands have a CMC (converted mana cost) of 0. They are put into play from Genesis Wave.


Can Sun Titan bring back lands?

Yes. Sun Titan says "Permanent with cmc less than three" so you can put a land (Permanent with cmc of 0) onto the battlefield.


Can you use hybrid mana in Commander?

First, you are limited to cards that have mana symbols on them that match the mana symbols on your commander's card. The rule, though, applies only to mana symbols. Hybrid cards have both mana symbols on them, meaning that you can't play a hybrid card unless you are playing both of its colors.


What is the mana value of an overloaded spell?

The CMC of an Overloaded Cyclonic Rift is 2. 202.3. The converted mana cost of an object is a number equal to the total amount of mana in its mana cost, regardless of color.


Was this post helpful?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.