Does Legendary Rule Apply To Planeswalkers?

Does legendary rule apply to planeswalkers? Planeswalkers are permanents. All planeswalkers have supertype "legendary" and are subject to the "legend rule". Planeswalkers with the same subtypes can exist under your control as long as they are not of the same name.

Can you have 2 Jace's out?

Yes, but planeswalkers have their own version of the Legend rule. You cannot have multiple copies of the same planeswalker, even if they are different cards. So, you can't have two cards that have the type "Jace" for instance, but you can have as many different planeswalkers in play as you can cast.

What is the legend rule?

704.5j If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their owners' graveyards. This is called the “legend rule.”

How many legendary planeswalkers can be on the field?

No rule limits the total number of Planeswalkers that can be on the field at once. Planeswalkers are subject to the “Legendary Rule” and a player may only have 1 of each Planeswalker with the same card name in play. A player may have multiple of the same type of Planeswalker in play at once.

How do you use legendary planeswalkers?


Related advices for Does Legendary Rule Apply To Planeswalkers?


Can you respond to legend rule?

To clarify, the legend rule happens as a state based action. It happens before players get priority, and it cannot be responded to.


Does the legend rule use the stack?

The Legend Rule is a state-based action (SBA), which are checked and performed each time a player receives priority. SBAs do not use the stack and can not be responded to, but enters the battlefield triggers will still be placed on the stack.


Can you have two different planeswalkers on the field at the same time?

You can freely have two planeswalkers of the same type on the battlefield at once. As of the current rules they function precisely the same as all other legendary permanents.


How many planeswalker abilities can you use per turn?

Each planeswalker can only activate one of their abilities once per turn and only on your turn. It can only be used at a time a sorcery can be used.


How many different planeswalkers can you have in a deck?

You can have a maximum of four planeswalkers with the same card name in your deck, just like any other MTG card.


How do you use planeswalker abilities?

Planeswalkers have activated abilities. You can activate one of these abilities whenever you could cast a sorcery, but only one of a planeswalker's abilities may be activated during each of your turns. The cost to activate a planeswalker's ability is to add or remove loyalty counters from that planeswalker.


Can you target a planeswalker?

The rule states that you cannot directly target a Planeswalker with damage dealing spells—instead, you must target a player and then redirect the damage from that player to a Planeswalker they control. Removing the Planeswalker redirection rule will have a dramatic impact on many existing cards.


Can sarkhan be a commander?

Sarkhan Dragonsoul is legal in both Commander AND Modern.


Do indestructible creatures take damage?

Indestructible creatures do take damage, but you have misunderstood the relationship between damage and toughness. Damage does not lower a creature's toughness; a creature simply dies when it takes damage equal to or greater than its toughness- lethal damage.


Can you have multiple legendary artifacts?

This is called the “legend rule.” Only one copy of a given legendary card may be in control by a same player at the same time. Most legendary cards are creatures; legendary artifacts, lands, sorceries and enchantments also exist. Planeswalker cards' uniqueness rule was heavily influenced by Legend Rule.


What happens if you clone a legendary creature?

A Clone comes into play as whatever you want to copy. Copying a legend triggers the legend rule and kills both legends.


Can Reflections of Littjara copy legendary creatures?

I'm pretty new to magic, so maybe this is a common sense question: I know you can only control one legendary of a name at a time. [[Reflections of Littjara]] copies spells of a named creature type- copies of a permanent become a token.


Does legendary rule trigger death triggers?

Yes. A creature dies when it moves from the battlefield to the graveyard, for any reason. As long as the creature goes directly to the graveyard, yes.


Was this post helpful?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.